S4:E8 Hope Springs Paternal

Original Air Date: Mar 9, 2014

Fiona prepares for a visit from her probation officer and must rid the house of all suspicious items, a mission that puts her directly at odds with Debbie and Carl. Meanwhile, Ian gets kicked out of Mickey's house by a hammer-wielding Svetlana, and finally makes his long-awaited return to the Gallagher house.


No airings

See TV Schedule

On Demand

Available now

See Schedule

Stream Showtime

Watch Preview of this Episode

S4:E8 Promo (:40)

Watch Preview of this Episode

Sneak Peek: I'm a Different Person

S4:E8 Preview Scene (2:04)

Sneak Peek: I'm a Different Person

Sneak Peek: Fire in the Hole

S4:E8 Preview Scene (1:55)

Sneak Peek: Fire in the Hole

"Season four of Shameless has chronicled Fiona Gallagher's fall from grace."

Music from this episode
You and Me and Punk Rock
The Luck You Got
The High Strung
Human Nature
Gauntlet Hair
Sweet as a Golden Apple
Kaitlin Riegel
Take a Chance
Gunther Fitzgibbons
Something Dub
Attack of the Fifty Foot Guitars
Everybody's Laughing
Black Ajax
Got What I Want
The F String
The Army Goes Rolling Along
Sung by Ian (Visual Vocal)
Cop Chopper
The Little Shirley
Devils Spawn
The Magic Bones
The Nini's
Move Like U Stole It
ZZ Ward (Paul Oakenfold Mix)
Our Love Is
The Pollywogs
The Scotch of Saint James
High Life
Jonathan Atkinson
Out of Time
Running Young
Nothing At All
The F String
Mickey Slim
Niall McGuiness
Man Child Woman
Ed Hale & The Transcendence
Brick House Woman
Cold Afternoon
The Dig

11 Seasons, 134 Episodes

  • Season 11

    It’s last call and the Gallaghers are going out with the biggest bang ever. Changes are coming that will force each of them to either step up or hit the road, but they know one thing for certain – Gallaghers may grow up, but they’ll never grow apart.

    Season 11
  • Season 10

    Frank's exploits lead him to an old friend, Debbie rules over the Gallagher household with an iron fist, Lip navigates his relationship with Tami, and Gallavich returns as Ian and Mickey rekindle their relationship in prison as both cellmates and lovers.

    Season 10
  • Season 9

    Political fervor hits the South Side, and the Gallaghers take justice into their own hands. Frank sees financial opportunity in campaigning and Fiona tries to build on the success of her apartment building.

    Season 9
  • Season 8

    The Gallaghers are finally on an upswing! Frank tries to become a contributing member of society, Fiona finds success as a landlord, Lip struggles to stay sober, Ian takes up a cause, and Debbie tries life as a working single mom.

    Season 8
  • Season 7

    The Gallaghers have always been fiercely loyal to one another, but now that Frank has taken things too far will his outraged family finally declare war? One thing's for sure: there's never a dull moment for this clan.

    Season 7
  • Season 6

    The Gallaghers are finally getting their acts together and striking out on their own, but growing up could also mean growing apart. One thing's certain: nothing ever comes easy when your last name is Gallagher -- except trouble.

    Season 6
  • Season 5

    Fiona gets into a surprising love triangle; Frank falls for a dying doctor; Lip commits himself to college life and becomes romantically involved with a mentor; Ian and Mickey struggle to manage Ian's bi-polar disorder.

    Season 5
  • Season 4

    Fiona gets into legal trouble after a party goes horribly wrong; Frank battles liver disease; Lip struggles with the realities of college life; Ian forces Mickey to confront his sexuality.

    Season 4
  • Season 3

    Jimmy struggles to balance his relationship with Fiona and his obligations to Estefania; Frank alientates his children and then tries to win them back; Karen returns and drives a wedge between Lip and Mandy with dire consequences.

    Season 3
  • Season 2

    Frank and Monica rekindle their self-destructive relationship; Fiona is thrown when Steve arrives home with a surprise; Lip makes big changes; Karen and Sheila clash over Karen's new husband Jody.

    Season 2
  • Season 1

    Frank goes missing and turns up in Toronto, tries to embrace sobriety, and bends the law to protect his disability checks; Fiona falls for a player with a lot of money and a big secret; Ian embraces his sexuality.

    Season 1

Shop Shameless fan favorites now